19 comments on “SHTF Kit Planning: What to Have and Why – Part II

  1. Pingback: Nine Months: SHTF Kit-Building | Western Rifle Shooters Association

  2. DTG, perhaps we should mention to the remnant Datrex bars. I gave one to my finicky drama queen daughter one time when we got lost on Crowders Mtn in Charlotte area. Instantly, her mood changed and said they were “really good.” Kinda like shortbread cookies. They last forever in the trunk, GHB, BOB, whatevah. Just do this, store them in your vehicle in a small styrofoam or cheap Igloo cooler. The cooler helps with the temp fluctuations which is the death knell for all long term storage foods. As you are wont to say, YMMV

  3. DTG, here is another suggestion. I travel for a living over a 6 state region in the Southeast as a technical sales guy. I got maps, compasses (plural) GPS, BOB, ICOM and Uniden scanners, solar power, two is one yadda yadda yadda. I say all that to say this, I CONSTANTLY try to reduce my kit with knowledge. That said, perhaps the remnant would care to check out the humble GI mess cup, the canteen that fits into it and the stove base that holds it all. I freed up considerable space in my minimalist pack with same. Links below;

    http://www.amazon.com/G-I-Type-Stainless-Steel-Canteen/dp/B00125M48I
    http://www.amazon.com/Aluminum-Canteen-Cup-Stove-Stand/dp/B003U0B8VM
    http://www.amazon.com/Style-Stainless-Canteen-Surplus-Cover/dp/B00HRII9OM NOTE: Non-BPA nalgene canteens of slike form factor are available.

  4. I’ve worn these “Lifetime” wool socks from Bass Pro in triple digit Nevada heat, below freezing New England winters, and on plenty of average Texas days in between. (In cheapy Magnum brand tan “desert boots.”) Can’t reccomend the socks highly enough; NOTE the men’s are much cushier than the women’s. Even without a thin “liner” sock, just turn them inside out at night to dry if they’ve gotten sweaty, tho the liner pretty much eliminates that. I have four pairs; have had to “exchange” one pair over the last, oh, 8 years I’ve been wearing them. http://www.basspro.com/RedHead-Lifetime-Guarantee-AllPurpose-Wool-Socks-for-Men/product/34713/

    Any suggestions for good boots for women? I use the super thick socks usually with an extra innersole because I have (and like the khaki tan) men’s boots and they’re always too wide!

  5. For sanitation, I would recommend carrying baby wipes. You can use them like TP, and soldiers often use them in the field for a hundred different tasks, including wiping grime out of the nooks and crannies where rashes develop (armpits and groin, especially). The only drawback is the potential for leaving a distinctive scent.

  6. +10 on the DarnTough wool socks. Been wearing them for yrs now and just broke a hole above one heel, they have outlasted my Smartwool socks 5x over easily. I wear wool socks every day, whether with light hiking shoes or heavy White’s logging boots, nothing keeps your feet warm, comfortable and healthy like wool. And wearing holes in $20-25 socks is not my idea of fun, Darn Tough are the finest socks I’ve ever owned.
    I eat a lot of Mtn House meals from being outdoors a lot, stay away from the single serving meals, there just isn’t enough in them to feed a hungry person. Children and small women, maybe.
    Roll of toilet paper and a pack of Handi-wipes in a zip lock bag lasts a little over 1 week of normal use, longer if you still wipe like you did with C-Rat G.I. TP.

  7. Thank you for the post. We like those 2 quart canteens too in the desert scrub. I wish they made an elongated steel pan for warming food like they do for the 1 quart canteen. Maybe a restaurant supply food tray ? I haven’t found one yet.

    The freeze dried food packs can be enlarged by adding Ramen packages to bulk up calorie needs. Long shelf life, nearly weightless and the salty mylar envelopes are useful in high heat locations when you sweat like crazy and need a sodium hit. Those same envelopes are good for cold times as well – a warm cup of that really feels good in the belly.

    Thanks again.

  8. Thanks for stopping by! So….what do you do with baby wipes in sub-freezing weather? If the whole pack freezes, you SOL (literally!). I’ve used them in sub-zero weather, but the only way to do that was to keep a pack next to my body to keep them pliable. Do you have another method?

  9. I know the Danner ‘combat hikers’ come in women’s sizes, but I also know you ladies have different fitting requirements. The width issue hits right close to home as my wife needs a narrow boot. Right now she has some Cabela’s hikers that work for her. She takes either a 6.5 or 7 narrow, depending on the cut/make of the boot. Hope this helps, and thanks for stoppoing by!

  10. Thanks for stopping by and the suggestion! We, too, are a fan of the USGI stainless steel (non-butterfly handle) canteen cup and it’s aftermarket lid for a utility pot. The older canteens are good (having used them for more years than I care to admit to), but they are heavy. I guess it’s a trade off of weight vs. space. Good ideas for alternatives!

  11. Thanks for stopping by and the tip on the Datrex bars! That could be really, really, really handy if one was dealing with a smaller human (aka, ‘child’) over the road. Good to have in the trunk/storage bin, too!

  12. For sub-freezing temperatures, all your canteens/dromedary bags would need to be insulated to prevent the water from freezing as well. If I’m carrying two packets (plenty for a single person for a week), I’d slip one bag inside the liner with my dromedary bag, and keep the other between my base layer and insulation (Pockets on my base layer help a lot here.). The former will be kept from freezing, but would be unpleasant to wipe in my armpits and groin (not to mention the risk of hypothermia), whereas the latter would be kept closer to body temperature, and be more user-friendly.

  13. That’s exactly what we do; hydration bladder twixt the jacket liner and coat with the drink tube inside and up under the arm pit to keep everything fluid. When using wipes, we take enough for a day and slip them in a zip lock baggy and place in shirt pocket next to the chest to keep everything nice and warm until needed.

    Thanks for the input!

  14. Admittedly, women and children will need the baby wipes more than the men. Children are more susceptible to disease, and women need to worry about yeast infections and menstrual blood. I know women who are already using them for these two reasons. Great way to get into the habit before running water goes away.

  15. Pingback: SHTF Kit Planning: What to Have and Why – Part III | Starvin Larry

  16. Pingback: SHTF Kit Planning: What to Have and Why – Part IV | The Defensive Training Group

  17. Pingback: DTG’s “SHTF Series” Parts 1-4 – Mason Dixon Tactical

  18. I live in Alaska. I found out 36 years ago that if you didn’t want to stop and melt snow in the winter to have something to drink, you had to wear a small camelback hydration pack under you coat as close to the body as possible. -50F is nothing to play footsie with. Even under a coat, the bladder can still freeze so close to the body is necessary. Of course, a nice fire at the end of the day helps and gives you HOT water for coffee or hot chocolate and cooking.

Feel free to comment! Debates are welcome, so long as they add to the discussion. Ad hominem attacks, accusations, uncontrolled vitriol, thread hijacks, personal threats, or any comment that otherwise detracts from DTG's stated mission will not be approved or posted. Repeat violators will be banned.

