10 comments on “Product Review: Petzl Tactikka Headlamp

  1. Pingback: DTG: Product Review – Petzl Tactikka Headlamp | Western Rifle Shooters Association

  2. I’ve run two different headlamps extensively in the field and both met my needs, they are the:
    TacTikka Plus 4-LED Headlamp
    And
    Princeton Tech Tactical Quad
    The main difference between these two lights is the Petzl is much smaller and lighter despite still being a three AAA battery headlamp however it has a push and click style closure as opposed to the Princeton’s closure which uses a screw that can be tightened much more securely. Having been in situations where both have ended up submerged I can say I have noticed moisture got into the battery compartment on the Petzel but not the Princeton. This didn’t cause the light to fail but because I didn’t notice right away there was some corrosion around the battery terminals I had to clean up with a wire brush.
    Also I like that when you turn on the Princeton it cycles from low to high in brightness whereas the Petzel starts on the highest setting. As someone who likes to use the least amount of light possible to get the job done (even with the red filter on) I appreciate the option to start low and move higher. This is something to think about when you were looking at some of the cheaper options like the Energizer model they sell at the supermarket. I own one and it works great but because there is no red lens you have to cycle through two white lights before the red LEDs come on which can ruin your night vision and give away your position trying to get there.
    The bottom line is both are outstanding lights that have taken a lot of abuse and have never failed me but due to the differences in features on the closure and the brightness cycle I will take the extra weight of the Princeton if I could only choose one.

  3. Having the ability to slide a green, red, or blue lens over the light on the older Petzl before turning on the light is what attracted me to it back when I bought it. Night vision loss sucks!

    Thanks for stopping by and giving us your take! Good review!

  4. I’ve been running the Streamlight Sidewinder Compact, but as a card-carrying light-whore, I’ll have to check these out. I’ve got one on my PC and another on a headlamp strap, but I wouldn’t mind having a “standard” headlamp to throw in the mix.

    Thanks for the review/heads-up on these.

  5. Princeton Tech has been in the business of making Scuba lights for a long time, I have some of their C and D cell diving lights from over 20 yrs ago.
    As a former scuba repair tech I highly recommend you go and get a small vial of AquaSeal silicone grease from McNett and use that on any O-rings on your flashlights. Remove the O-ring with a dental pick (carefully), wipe clean and apply a very small dab of fresh grease all around the O-ring, install back in groove. It will help keep the moisture out. DO NOT use Vaseline, it EATS rubber!

    https://www.mcnett.com/m-essentials/silicone-grease#26120

    While you’re at it, get some McNetts Tenacious Tape for rain gear, air mattress repairs too. They have a phenomenal list of repair items for field, camping, scuba use.

    https://www.mcnett.com/

  6. Headlamps are handy, but have a few draw backs. Using them when alone is great, but in groups you tend to look at the person you talk to and you can blind the other person for a bit. Turning to a lower strength or colored filter really helps. I live in the buggy South, and when eating, insects are attracted to my face when lit. Real pain when eating tacos (not sure if I’m getting ‘supplements’, lol).

    Otherwise – not much to complain about them. Thanks for the tips above.

  7. I use a Black Diamond headlamp that has a red mode using a button function – no lenses to change/lose. Used this extensively mountaineering and ice climbing.

Feel free to comment! Debates are welcome, so long as they add to the discussion. Ad hominem attacks, accusations, uncontrolled vitriol, thread hijacks, personal threats, or any comment that otherwise detracts from DTG's stated mission will not be approved or posted. Repeat violators will be banned.

