8 comments on “REPOST: Another Call for Physical Conditioning

  1. FWIW – I highly, highly encourage making sure Squats are in personal PT programs to help compliment and actually improve road march/road work. Squats done properly work so much more than just the quads and can/do improve strength, speed, and jumping (which all three combined = explosive power) it also benefits endurance ability and bone density. As in all things, start small, just body weight and focus on form, form, form. Once 3 sets of 10 full body weight squats can be done, it’s time to start slowly adding the weight. For my “lower body day” in my PT program, I do Box Jumps, Squats, Lunges and Deadlifts. Anywho, like I said, FWIW.

  2. Another option for those in the burbs…get a weighted vest. Seeing more and more of these in local sporting goods store in their fitness sections. I have them in 20 lb and 40 lb. No tacti-cool about these – but they weigh as much or more than your plate carrier and don’t draw attention from anyone. Not looking to replace the ruck, but it is an alternative if you have sensitive folk in the area you live/ruck.

  3. I just want to say in order of kicking my lazy 50 YO ass into gear; Mosby’s (I have both his books so he goes first), this site, MDT finally MVT – convinced me to get ruckin’ I was a baseball catcher for 20 years (LL trhrough Div 1 college) and have the knee arthiritis to prove it. My ’92 F350 ran over my right knee three years ago (what a story and cool 18″ scar!) and I am presently about 45 lbs overweight (6′ 2″ 275lbs) but working on that. I ruck at night (sometimes 3 and 4 hours 2-3 nights/ week) because I live very close to uptown Charlotte and am surrounded by either lefties, trendies, hipsters or the “working poor” and they wig when they see me road rucking in the day time, especially since a tomahawk is strapped front and center (not to mention I rock a stars and bars hat). I am a degreed Mechanical Engineer, two patents, formerly self-employed, daughter in grad school, son in commercial diving school and have a day job as a Regional Sales Manager.

    So, all that to say this, if I can ruck – so can you. So, to conglomerate all the websites taglines – BFYTW

  4. Thanks for the repost. Today I started this thing. I live in a rural area in Styria/Austria, so I have to be careful about what I wear and carry. I will go on with this training, becaus we Europeans will need to be fit for WW 3 (the NATO is planning). I am glad Austria does NOT belong to NATO but anyway we will have to bear the burden of the islamic invasion. The police is not able to protect us any more – we willhave to do this ourselves. So what? Getting in shape and going to the range is a must – though I am 63 years old.

Feel free to comment! Debates are welcome, so long as they add to the discussion. Ad hominem attacks, accusations, uncontrolled vitriol, thread hijacks, personal threats, or any comment that otherwise detracts from DTG's stated mission will not be approved or posted. Repeat violators will be banned.

