10 comments on “Your Rifle: Take Care of It as If It Were Your Life – Because it is!

  1. Don’t forget that to much lube is as bad or worse than not enough-and pay attention to winterizing-I lost a second shot at a nice deer last year,because it was so cold,and I had not degreased and used a lighter oil for winter-the firing pin did not strike the primer hard enough to fire the shell-and that was in a Mossberg 590 that’s been used hard,and had never had any failure at all-until that 5 below day.
    I saw the snow fly under the deer’s belly-knew I was way off on the range-the deer just stood there,looking around like WTF was that?
    I cycled the pump-aimed,pulled the trigger and…click. Did it again and… click.
    That was the last deer I had a shot at-never filled my tag.
    Today was opening day of Ohio’s gun season-the Mossberg got thoroughly degreased,especially the bolt and firing pin assembly-then I put just a few drops of 3 in 1 oil on the moving parts-before I went out the door this am.
    At least it happened during deer hunting-not a life or death situation.
    I’ll never let any similar lack of proper care/maintenance happen again.

  2. good article….quick comment though….way better to overlube than underlube if in doubt…especially AR platforms. If in doubt look up youtube video of Larry Vickers demo.

  3. Thanks for stopping by. Agree on over versus under for AR platforms, but the Fail Zero BCG’s coupled with Frog Lube make for a very nice combination to take the requirement of over lubrication out of the picture. I know with a standard BCG and upper, I will use a shit load of lubricant, so much so that during firing it will splatter, because it runs better wet. Problem is there’s only so much room in the ruck to carry what you might need for an extended security patrol….just sayin’.

  4. When I was a kid my dad taught me that guns should be cleaned at the end of every day they’re taken into the field whether they’re fired or not, and I still live by that.
    The new high tech lubes and cleaners are great (and expensive) but what about SHTF? Will you be able to get more when the bottle in your kit runs out?
    I’ve switched to lubes that I know I will be able to get wherever I am and whatever happens because they’re so commonplace. I use wheel bearing grease and 40 wt motor oil. They’re made for high heat and pressure in a very hostile and demanding environment. I’ve used them for several years and I’m very satisfied with the results.
    For cleaning I started using Ed’s Red last spring. It’s the best gun cleaning solvent I’ve ever used. When using it be careful around plastic parts because it contains acetone.

    http://www.frfrogspad.com/homemade.htm

  5. Well, we look at things a lot like you, when it comes to SHTF. When the time comes that we run out of lube, we’ll start using motor oil as well, but until then, we’re stockpiling our favorite: Frog Lube, in both the paste and liquid form. Nice thing about Frog Lube is that it’s a cleaner as well, and after a few treatments, all we’ve found we need to do, literally, is wipe down the parts in question with a very small amount of Frog Lube on a soft cloth or a patch, when it comes to the barrel.

    And it doesn’t hurt plastic, rubber, wood, or metal.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  6. I swear by the Frog Lube as well; have found nothing better that protects my weapons from the rust-inducing salt water FL clime. My Mossberg Mariner loves it.

  7. I haven’t had the best luck with Frog Lube, as a corrosion preventative anyway. I have a reloading press in the garage subject to humidity and condensation. Ever since lubing the ram with TW25B, there has been no rust on it. With Frog Lube it built up lots of rust very quickly.

  8. Wow, sorry to hear that! I’ve seen tests with a lot of rust inhibitors, including Frog Lube, and it does the best out of all of the ones tested (Barricade and a few others), but it’s not fool proof by any means. I use it primarily to make cleaning easier as all I have to do is wipe down my parts and patch the bore once or twice. But then again, I’m running a chrome lined bore and chamber, a nickel boron upper and Fail Zero BCG….not a lot left to go wrong.

    Thanks for stopping by!

Feel free to comment! Debates are welcome, so long as they add to the discussion. Ad hominem attacks, accusations, uncontrolled vitriol, thread hijacks, personal threats, or any comment that otherwise detracts from DTG's stated mission will not be approved or posted. Repeat violators will be banned.

